Personal Development

Negotiate for a better deal

Have you ever walked away from getting a great deal and wanted to breakout into a running man, Cameo dance or even the Carlton ‘Fresh Prince’ dance? If so you demonstrated effective negotiation skills.

 

1

Why is it we can go to the market on a Saturday and haggle for a bowl of fruit from £1.20 to £1 and even in the fish mongers but when it comes to getting the right salary or terms and conditions for a job we simply take the first package offered?

Don’t get me wrong if the salary matches your experience and capabilities then go for it. On the other hand if you’ve invested in your career with continuous professional development (CPD), have experience to boot and you get offered the lower scale of the salary advertised and accept it then how can you complain?

Do you know that they actually tested you to see if you knew your own worth and see if they could get you for much cheaper? And at the first stage you agreed and they won and negotiated the best.2

Research has shown that 73% of employers agreed they are not offended when people negotiate. Furthermore, a whopping 84% said they always expect job applicants to negotiate salary during the interview stage. It is clear that you should not settle for the first salary offered to you, this is the first stage and you have the opportunity to negotiate a better deal to get what you truly deserve.

Let me tell you a personal story. Five years ago I finished my undergraduate degree, was promoted to a senior level and the salary offered to me was only 1k more than I was already on post commission. I remember reading the offer in bed and laughed. I respond straight away thanking my director for the opportunity blah, blah, blah, and stated we needed to talk about the salary. I wasn’t being cheeky, I had invested three years into my degree and numerous CPD courses of which she was aware of. She knew the skills and knowledge I now acquired and how extremely valuable to her and the business I would be. After back and forth with emails I was able to get a 5k increase. 4

Why was this you say? It was because I knew my own worth, I had invested my time, blood, sweat and tears and a lot of money. I was able to demonstrate my previous achievements, my knowledge and overall the return on investment (ROI) she would get in me. Confidence, self-belief and having a bottom line to know when to walk away from something are some of the essential skills to being able to negotiate successfully.

If you’re fed up of getting the wrong deal when it comes to your salary and work package seriously look into learning how to negotiate so that you are getting what you truly deserve. Checkout the essential..

The 7 Strategies to Preparing for an Negotiation

Final thought…

Let us never negotiate out of fear but let us never fear to negotiate

-JFK

If you are interested in learning how to effectively negotiation click the link below to our Ayescreativelearning.com/courses

Leave a Reply

